Top Ten(10) Universities with various courses offer in faculty of Arts.

Faculties of arts and humanities are indeed prestige Faculties in most universities with their distinct departments of its own. Faculty of art and humanities has shapened and brought distinct qualities in our today societies.

Here are the top ten federal universities and their Departments in Faculty Of Art and humanities.

University of Lagos (UNILAG). 

University of Lagos was founded in 1962, it presently has three campuses in Yaba and Surelere wheras two of its campus is in Yaba. 

University of Lagos is quite a competitive and prestigious university. The Faculty comprises six Departments;

  1. Linguistics
  2. African and Asian Studies
  3. Philosophy
  4. Creative Arts
  5. English
  6. History and Strategic Studies 

The Faculty Of Arts awards degrees in Bachelor of Arts, (B.A hons).

In 2013, Chinese programme was introduced in department of linguistics, African and Asian Studies. These broading the horizon and scopes and achieves it’s aim of cross cultural gobal outreach.

Faculty of Art Unilag. 

University of Benin (UNIBEN)

University of Benin was found in 1967 and becomes a full-fledge in 1970.  University of Benin is quite a prestigious university. It has about two campuses in Ugbowo and Ekehuan. The two campus have Faculty of Arts (Ugbowo and Ekehuan)

Here are the list of Departments in Faculty of Arts in Ugbowo 

  1. Foreign language
  2. Religion
  3. Linguistics
  4. English and literature
  5. Philosophy
  6. History and international study
  7. History

While in Ekehuan, here are the list of Departments;

  1. Mass communication
  2. Theatre Arts.

Department of Theatre Arts is a multi-faceted, reflecting many dimensions of performance like drama, theatre management, technical theatre, Dance, media arts and music. 

Faculty of Arts Ugbowo.

Theatre Arts is Ekehuan Campus.

University of Nigeria, Nsuka (UNN)

University of Nigeria, Nsuka has about four campuses 

1. University of Nigeria (unn)
2. University of Enugu campus (unc)
3. University of Nigeria, Aba campus (unac)
4. University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Ituku-ozalla.
 The Faculty of Arts is one of the first  four foundation Faculties of the university of Nigeria, Nsuka. It commerced academic activities in Igbo with six Departments. Two of these – English and History, became core Departments of Faculty of Arts when the institution groups it’s academic units into Faculties.

The creation of the Faculty in 1960, leds to the formed background of the founding university (UNN).

List of courses in Faculty of Arts are;

  1. Mass communication
  2. Combined Arts
  3. Linguistics
  4. English and literary studies 
  5. Fine and applied arts 
  6. French
  7. French/German/ Russia
  8. German
  9. History and international studies
  10. Igbo
  11. Linguistics/Igbo/ others
  12. Nigerian language
  13. Archaeology
  14. Theatre and film studies
  15. Music.

 Fine and applied art.

Obafemi Awolowo university (OAU)

Obafemi Awolowo university is a prestigious university of which Faculty of Arts was a foundational Faculties in the university since the establishment in 1962.
The Faculty has experienced structural changes, however their eight academic Departments in Faculty of Arts.

  1. Dramatic Arts
  2. English studies 
  3. Foreign languages 
  4. History
  5. Linguistics and languages
  6. Music
  7. Philosophy
  8. Religious studies
  9. Research units (institute of cultural studies).

Picture of faculty Of Arts and dramatic arts.

Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK)

Is quite a prestigious university university with the top most applicants every year. 

The Faculty of Arts have various Departments which are; 

  1. English and literature
  2. History and international studies
  3. Igbo language
  4. African and Asian Studies
  5. Linguistics
  6. Music
  7. Philosophy
  8. Religion and human relations
  9. Theatre and film studies
  10. History and religious studies
  11. Modern European language
  12. English and literature administration.

Faculty of Arts.

University of Ilorin (unilorin)

University of Ilorin is situated at Ilorin, capital city of Kwara state in north central part of Nigeria.

Here are list of departments in Faculty of Arts;

  1. Arabic
  2. Comparative religious studies
  3. Christian religious studies
  4. English language
  5. French
  6. History and international studies
  7. Islamic studies
  8. Linguistics
  9. Performing arts (Theatre Arts)
  10. Yoruba 

Faculty of Arts.

University of Ibadan (UI)

University of Ibadan is one of the most sought and prestigious institution in Nigeria. 

Here are list of Departments in Faculty of Arts; 

  1. Arabic and Islamic studies
  2. Departments of classics 
  3.  English and European studies 
  4. Communication and language arts
  5. Linguistics and African language
  6. Philosophy
  7. Religious studies
  8. Theatre Arts

Faculty of Arts UI 

University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT).

University of Port-Harcourt is quite competitive, depending on the course of study. 

Here are list of Departments in Faculty of Arts.

  1. English studies
  2. Fine Arts and design
  3. Music
  4. Foreign language and literature
  5. Religious and cultural studies
  6. Theatre and film studies
  7. Linguistics and communication

Faculty of Arts and humanities

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)

Faculty of Arts is located within the core of the main campus, Samaru. Ahmadu Bello University has about twelve Faculties and Faculty of art is reputed to have existed before the establishment of others Faculties. 

Here are the list of Departments in Faculty of Arts;

  1. African language and culture
  2. Arabic
  3. Archeology
  4. English
  5. French
  6. Hausa
  7. History
  8. Theatre and performing arts
  9. Arts and social science education
  10. Fine arts 
  11. L.G development studies

Faculty of Arts, Ahmadu Bello University.

University of Calabar (UNICAL). Faculty of Arts at the university of Calabar was first to be established at the university of Calabar during and after it was wean from campus of the university of Nigeria, Nsuka in 1975. The Faculty start with five academic departments which was later grown to ten academic departments. 

List of departments in Faculty of Arts

  1. English and literary studies 
  2. History and international studies
  3. Modern languages and translation studies
  4. Fine and applied arts
  5. Mass communication and digital media
  6. Music
  7. Religious and cultural studies
  8. Theatre
  9. Film and carnival studies
  10. Philosophy


Thanks once for your time do share to friends.  Upon coming post Will be on, top ten  college of medicine in Nigeria universities with their outstanding buildings. 

Any questions, do more to comment below.


Related Articles